23 July 2010

Romanian Carpathians

Romanian Carpathians are part of the eastern sector of the Alpine mountain system, well individualized by the general direction of the main peaks, the altitude, the massive structure. Resistance to Russian Platform imposed at Carpathian training a northwest direction from north to south south easterly direction and then westward as Hercynic Dobrogea horst.

Carpathian average altitude is about 1000 m, height rarely exceeding 2500 m (Bucegi, Fagaras, Parang, Retezatului, Rodna). The Western Carpathians, heights frequently descend the slopes below 800 m (Foreign Moma Mountains, Forest Mountains, Banat, etc.). Width system Carpathian Mountains in Romania varies between 120 km (in Rodna) and 70 km (in the Parang Mountains).
Carpathians are characterized by the presence of numerous cross-mountainous valleys and total or partial (Danube, Jiu, Olt, Bistriţa River, Mureş River Quick, etc.). They have 204 million years old.
According to geomorphological and geological differences, Romanian Carpathians are divided into three main units morfotectonice:
I. Eastern Carpathians with three older groups and 40 mountain groups that are distinct morphological, geophysical and geographical:
* Maramures and Bucovina Carpathians
* Moldavian Carpathians Transylvania
* Curvature Carpathians
II. Southern Carpathians with four older groups, subdivided into 23 mountain groups that are geographically distinct:
* Bucegi Mountains
* Fagaras Mountains
* Parang Mountains
* Godeanu Retezat Mountains
III. Western Carpathians with three older groups, divided in turn into 18 morphologically distinct mountain groups, geophysical and geographical:
* Banat Mountains
* Poiana Rusca Mountains
* Apuseni Mountains.

No comments:

Post a Comment